A different view on Radiohead’s “genius”…

January 4, 2009

Okay, so I was looking at my Last.FM page today for the first time in a loooonnngggg time, and came across the post I did in October of 2007.

It’s an old-post, but I find it most amusing because, well, I still feel the same way more than a year later!

Check it:

If you haven’t already heard,
Radiohead took a ‘new’ approach to releasing their latest piece of work, “In Rainbows“.

They’re letting listeners name their own price! You can buy the entire record for a penny if you’d like.

And, get this, they (Radiohead) are succeeding. “In Rainbows” has sold more than 1.2 million units in the first couple days. Kanye West, the biggest selling first-week of 2007, only sold 950k. So it must be obvious to everybody else that this is the way to release ALL music… right?

**waits for the cheering to die down**

This is a novelty! This is not a sustainable business model for the music industry. Maybe it’s me being stubborn, but this isn’t something that can work for every artist, is it? Eventually, won’t everybody be only paying a penny to listen to entire albums?

Radiohead is bound to have financial success because they have a devoted fan-base. They, with the help of their major-label’s resources (past or present), have gotten to the point where they can do something like this.

Don’t get me wrong, I think it’s GREAT (for now)…

But all the folks that now believe this is how all music should be released, are fooling themselves.

The beauty of the internet is that everybody becomes accessible. There are now more choices for us as fans and consumers.

There aren’t less people listening to music, just less people paying for it in the (current) dominant format. The issue the music industry is having is not that people are no longer buying CDs, but that everybody believes music should be free, like water… and it shouldn’t be.

This isn’t to knock Radiohead for their forward-thinking concept; but they’re not necessarily saving the music industry for future artists. They’re capitalizing on the novelty of a great idea.

But that’s just my opinion…


Top 10+ of 2008

January 4, 2009

At the end of every year, I always try to share some of my favorite albums… this year was no different.  See below for my “Best of…” list for 2008.

1. Buff1 – There’s Only One
2. MGMT – Oracular Spectacular
3. Lil Wayne – Tha Carter III
4. Black Milk – Tronic
5. 14KT – The Golden Hour
6. Vampire Weekend – s/t
7. Sam Sparro – s/t
8. Danny Brown – Hot Soup
9. Sia – Some People Have Real Problems
10. Now On – Tomorrow Already
11. T.I – Paper Trail
12. Q-Tip – The Renaissance
13. Elzhi – The Preface
14, Kanye West – 808s & Heartbreak
15. Zo & Tigallo – …Love the 80’s
16. N.E.R.D – Seeing Sounds
17. Flight of the Cinchords – s/t
18. Girl Talk – Feed The Animals
19. Portishead – Third
20. Cold War Kids – Loyalty To Loyalty


What’s up?!

January 4, 2009

So for those that know me, I’ve gotten to do quite a few amazing things over the past few years, mostly because of my job(s).

For those that don’t know me… I’ve spent my college years (and post-college years) working with major record labels doing marketing and promotions.  Somehow a part-time position in school ended up turning into a career, and along the way the things I have seen, the people I have met… needless to say, it’s been a fun-ride.

I bring a unique view to this blog, I’ve worked with major corporations, and even started smaller ones throughout the years — this just means I can usually see both sides of the coin, better than most.

One of my New Year’s resolutions for 2009 was to have an outlet to voice my opinion on the state of the music industry, as well as keep a journal of sorts, where I can share some of the things I get to do. 

This blog isn’t supposed to necessarily be as opinionated or negative as somebody like Lefsetz’, and truthfully, this is more for ME than any of you.  I’m not necessarily sure how much longer I may be working in this industry, so I wanted to have a place where I can revisit, and something I can share with my friends and family down the road.

Cheers and Happy New Year.  Here we go…